LTFRB opens 17 new Metro Manila routes for 1,943 traditional jeepneys starting July 29

The Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB) said it will allow 1,943 additional traditional Public Utility Jeepneys (PUJs) to ply 17 routes in Metro Manila roads starting Wednesday.

Per Memorandum Circular (MC) 2020-029, traditional PUJs with routes indicated in the MC can ply their existing routes with no special permit necessary starting July 29, 2020.

In lieu of the Special Permit, a corresponding QR Code shall be issued to the operator prior to operation, which must be printed in an 8.5” x 11” paper (short bond paper size) and displayed in the PUJ. 

The operator may secure their QR Code by downloading it from the LTFRB website at starting tomorrow, July 28, 2020, at 3:00pm.

The existing fare matrix of P9  for the first four kilometers and P1.50 for succeeding kilometer(s) shall be followed. Operators are reminded that no fare adjustment shall be applied unless approved by the Board.

As part of the requirements to operate, Traditional PUJs should also be currently registered roadworthy with the Land Transportation Office (LTO) and with valid Personal Passenger Insurance Policy.

Operators are also required to comply with safety measures prescribed by the Inter-Agency Task for Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) before, during, and after operations, such as checking of body temperature, wearing of face mask/shield and gloves at all times, and operating at a maximum of 50 percent capacity.

Only the following routes indicated in MC 2020-029  will be operational:

T106 MCU – Sangandaan

T109 Novaliches – Rizal Ave. via A. Bonifacio

T111 Tandang Sora – Visayas Ave. via Quezon City Hall

T112 Monumento – Paco, Obando via M.H. Del Pilar

T114 Quirino Highway – Sta. Lucia

T203 Crame – Cubao via Murphy

T204 Crame – Q. Mart via P Tuazon, E. Garcia

T214 SSS Village, Marikina – Cubao, Quezon City

T215 Parang,Marikina – Marikina (TP) via Fortune

T216 Guadalupe (ABC) – Taguig via Tipas

T217 Calumpang – Cubao via P. Tuazon

T304 Ayala – Guadalupe (Ibabaw) via JP Rizal

T337 Libertad, Pasay – Pasay Rd.

T341 Paco – Sta.Mesa Rtda via Nagtahan

T342 Pier South – Sta. Ana via P. Faura

T345 Navotas – Recto via Heroes Del 96

T346 Gate 5 – Greenhills Shopping Center Loop

Failure to comply with the conditions set forth by the Board will incur penalties from imposition of fines to cancellation or suspension of the Certificate of Public Convenience (CPC) or Provisional Authority (PA).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s